The Circus

The Reader BerlinThe Circus Hotel and KLAK Verlag proudly present the 10 winners of the 2019 Berlin Writing Prize in an anthology.

Berlin is a city of ideas. Wherever you look, someone’s dreams are coming to life. And what better theme than „The Circus“ for a writing prize arising from one of the world’s most exciting, independent literary scenes? Selected from over 350 entries by judges Sophie Mackintosh, May-Lan Tan, Elnathan John, Martin Jankowski, Katrin Schönig and Victoria Gosling, this collection will engage, intrigue and surprise you: from a personal essay about a heart transplant, to tall tales of alien abduction; from a circle-shaped essay-constellation on bears, to stories of sisterhood, transformation, rebellion and resistance. Prepare to be captivated.

The anthology brings you fresh, original writing by first-prize winner S.K. Perry, runners-up Victoria Manifold and Anbara Salam, and shortlisted authors …Chloe Gocool, Eliza Robertson, Sarah Van Bonn, Hannah Harper, Avrina Prabala-Joslin, Angela Hughes and Nicholas Ruddock.

Available both as an ebook and paperback edition, you can buy your copy direct from KLAK Verlag.

Please note, while our Kindle edition will soon be available on both Amazon platforms, if you would like the paperback edition, please order it from for the best deal – or come to one of our events where you can pick up a copy in person!

For a sneak peek of the winning stories featured, don’t miss our showcase of previews that we teased in the run-up to the launch:

A Wide Neon Yell by S.K. Perry
Camel by Victoria Manifold
Circus Freak by Anbara Salam
Apricot Stones by Chloe Gocool
One In Eight by Hannah Harper
Threshold by Angela Hughes
The Plumage by Avrina Prabala-Joslin
Délphine by Eliza Robertson
Ventimiglia by Nicholas Ruddock
On Bears: A Constellation by Sarah Van Bonn



    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop