‘Before the Ruins’ Belated Launch Party on Sept. 18!

The Reader is so happy to announce the long-awaited launch party for Before the Ruins by Reader founder, Victoria Gosling!

Date: Saturday Sept. 18th
Time: Doors open at 7pm, Reading from 8pm
Place: Prachtwerk, Ganghoferstraße 2

The book was published earlier this year to a wealth of praise but covid prevented us from meeting to raise a glass and toast her brilliance—so let’s correct that now!

Join us at Prachtwerk on Saturday September 18th, when Victoria will read from her novel. Before the Ruins has been described as a “a masterly debut” full of “gorgeous, poetic prose” from a “stylish, sophisticated writer” (by Sarah Waters, Publisher’s Review and the New York Times.) There’ll be a discussion with Jane Flett, digging deeper into the themes of class, innocence, morality, and loss, as well as an audience Q&A.

Doors at 7pm, reading and discussion from 8. (Please bring proof of vaccination, current negative covid test or proof of covid recovery in order to be allowed entry. And there’s space for a maximum of 50 audience members, so come on time if you want to grab your spot!)

We’ll also have some copies available for you to buy—if you’d like one, please email jane@thereaderberlin.com.

Before the Ruins is a gripping, multilayered debut in the tradition of Tana French and Donna Tartt about four friends, an empty manor, and a night that will follow them for the rest of their lives…

“Jaw-droppingly brilliant writing.”
–Marian Keyes

“[A] stellar debut. . . .The gorgeous, poetic prose perfectly complements the suspenseful plot. Gosling is off to a terrific start.”
–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The elements of mystery serve to provide narrative tension, but the real point here is Gosling’s examination of the disappointment of modern living, the emptiness of adulthood, and the notion of the fake diamond necklace so many of us spend our lives searching for… Come for the missing person mystery, stay for the existential ennui.”
–Kirkus

Back
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop